OhioAnts Forum
Orbyx

Orbyx's Crematogaster cerasi Journal

Posted Feb 23rd, 2019:

I've always wanted an ant colony and finally got to a place in my life where I could have one - my own house and a spouse that's fine with it. After looking at the various common and uncommon species around, I decided that I want my main colony to be a Crematogaster sp. I love their little heart butts and that they are commonly two tone. It's just a personal preference, but I don't want just little black ants (sorry C. penn). A Pheidole, Prenolepis, and Trachymyrmex colony also sound awesome to me, but they are much harder to find around where I live.

I started learning about the hobby in August 2018 and I figured that I had missed the window to catch a queen and would have to wait until spring. But to my surprise, the ant I wanted was just about to have a nuptial flight. So, I started reading up on when they should fly, good weather conditions, time of day, etc. I have an ecology background, so learning about and finding a species comes naturally to me. 

Then, on Labor day (Sept 3rd), the weather was perfect and my spouse was off work so we went to the local parks. Oh boy, did I nail the timing. I ended up catching SEVEN queens that day.

spacer.png

[INFO: Sunny warm day after a rain, around 11a-12p. I also saw the beginning of a nuptial flight a few days later a little before 11a, so that seems to be the good time window.]

spacer.png

I was so excited to have them. Two of them have wings and five do not, so I should be able to get what I want and give away the extra queens. Win-win for everyone!

Once I got them home, I put them in test tubes and built a box to keep them in.

spacer.png